Every year during the General Assembly session, LWV-VA provides a nonpartisan forum open to the public on Wednesday mornings to discuss and share information on issues and legislation. 

Legislators are invited to discuss bills they are sponsoring and answer questions. Leaders of nonprofit groups are welcome to talk about their priority issues.  LWV-VA lobbyists and Issue Group Leaders give updates on LWV-VA priority issues.

This year we will meet via Zoom. The General Assembly session is only four weeks this year, so we will have four meetings. Click here to register to receive the Zoom link for the WLRTs. Please note that topics for WLRTs are subject to change. Click on the dates below for the recordings.

2021 WLRT Schedule*:

Jan. 13, 8:30-9:30 a.m. Voting Rights, 100% Right to Vote

Senator R. Creigh Deeds (25th District) and Delegate Jerrauld C. “Jay” Jones (89th District) are confirmed speakers

This WLRT will be followed by a 9:30am advocacy training from the League. RSVP for the training here.

Jan. 20, 8:30-9:30 a.m. Campaign Finance Reform, National Popular Vote Compact, Voting Rights Act

Delegate Marcus B. Simon (53rd District) and Delegate Schuyler T. VanValkenburg (72nd District) are confirmed speakers

Jan. 27, League Day 8:30-11:30 a.m. Criminal Justice, Broadband Access, Education

Confirmed General Assembly speakers are Senator Adam P. Ebbin (30th District), Senator Jennifer Boysko (33rd District), Delegate Don L. Scott Jr. (80th District), and Delegate Vivian E. Watts (39th District). Adele McClure, Executive Director of the Virginia Legislative Black Caucus, is our keynote speaker.

Contact your local League president about setting up meetings with your legislators.

Feb. 3, 8:30-9:30 a.m. Environmental Issues, final bills

Senator Ghazala F. Hashmi, District 10,  and Delegate Richard C. “Rip” Sullivan, Jr., District 48, are confirmed speakers.

Feb. 10, 8:30-9:30 a.m. General Assembly Session crossover

Delegate Don Scott, District 80, and Senator Jen Kiggans, District 7, are confirmed speakers.

Feb. 17, 8:30-9:30 a.m. General Assembly Special Session

Speakers are Megan Rhyne, Executive Director of Virginia Coalition for Open Government, and Laura Goren, Research Director for The Commonwealth Institute for Fiscal Analysis.

Feb. 24, 8:30-9:30 a.m. General Assembly Special Session

Delegate Delores McQuinn, District 70, is a confirmed speaker.

*Schedule subject to change

Share this: